Riduci carattereAumenta carattereVersione graficaSolo testo



The EULiST Alliance is a consortium consisting of ten universities in ten countries and even more European regions with complementing strengths in technical topics, humanities and social sciences. The entire Alliance comprises of more than 200,000 students and 20,000 academic and administrative staff.

EULiST members are located in large metropolitan areas such as Athens, Madrid, Paris or Vienna, in major cities like Bratislava, Brest, Brno or Hannover and smaller rural towns such as Albi, Jönköping, Lappeenranta or Lahti. Hence, EULiST represents the diversity of the European university landscape:

However, our diversity is not only geographic. Our members vary in size from 6,000 students at LUT University to 45,000 at Rey Juan Carlos. There are many public Members and privately funded ones, long-standing and newly created. Seven of our universities specialise in technology and business; three are comprehensive, offering a full range of disciplines including both STEM and SSH degrees. Some are based on a single campus; others are spread across a wide metropolitan area (URJC, NTUA), in different cities (LUT) or throughout the whole country (IMT).

This diversity is fundamental not only because it enables us to address the challenges of tomorrow, but because we can do so from different perspectives that take into account the different regions and also help us be aware of the complex consequences of our actions on individuals, society and the planet; enabling us to respond accordingly and appropriately. This diversity also provides the basis for future collaboration, beyond the four-year funding period, in hubs with other European University alliances, and allows us to act as a model of good practice for other universities, in order to form synergies across a broad disciplinary range within and beyond Europe.


EULiST Member Websites

Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic (BUT)
Institut Mines-Télécom, France (IMT)
Jönköping University, Sweden (JU)
Lappeenranta-Lahti University of Technology LUT, Finland (LUT)
Leibniz University Hannover, Germany (LUH)
National Technical University of Athens, Greece (NTUA)
Rey Juan Carlos University, Spain (UJRC)
Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Slovakia (STU)
University of L’Aquila, Italy (UNIVAQ)
Vienna University of Technology, Austria (TUW)


What is the European Universities Initiative (EUI)? 

The European Universities Initiative is of strategic importance for Higher Education in Europe.
In 2018, the European Commission launched the European Universities Initiative aiming to trigger and deepen unprecedented levels of cooperation between higher education institutions, making it systemic, structural and sustainable. Now part of Erasmus+ Programme, the initiative aims to encourage the emergence of bottom-up alliances of universities across Europe, which will enable students to combine studies in several countries.

European Universities are transnational Alliances that intend to develop into universities of the future:

  • promoting common European values and a strengthened European identity by bringing together a new generation of Europeans able to cooperate within different cultures, languages, and across borders, sectors and academic disciplines;
  • reaching a substantial leap in quality, performance, attractiveness and competitiveness of European higher education institutions, and contribute to the European knowledge economy, employment, creativity, culture and welfare by making the best use of innovative pedagogies and striving to make the knowledge square a reality. ‘European Universities’ will be key drivers to boost the quality of higher education and where possible to strengthen its link to the research and innovation landscape in Europe and its outreach towards the society and economy.

Through joint long-term strategies for education & research, the alliances aim to:

  • achieve a new quality of European exchange
  • become models for networking, digitalization, sustainability & social participation
  • educate a new generation of European graduates who study and live in different countries and languages

Following the EUI 2018 and 2019 pilot calls, 41 European University Alliances were created and funded. The final goal of the EU is to reach 60 European Universities by 2024, involving ca 500 HEIs.


International Summer School: Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) – Insights into whole school development for transformative teaching and learning
19. - 23. AUGUST 2024

International Summer School: Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) – Insights into whole school development for transformative teaching and learning - 19 - 23 August 2024